Book Queue: Newbery Medal Winners

The John Newbery Medal is a literary award given by the Association for Library Service to Children of the American Library Association (ALA) to the author of the Outstanding American book for children. The award has been given since 1922.

LibraryThing has a Book Awards list: Newbery Medal.

Book Queue

– 2010 When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
– 2009 The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
– 2008 Good Masters! Sweet Ladies!: Voices from a Medieval Village by Laura Amy Schlitz
– 2007 The Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron
– 2006 Criss Cross by Lynne Rae Perkins
– 2005 Kira-Kira by Cynthia Kadohata
– 2004 The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo
– 2003 Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi
– 2002 A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park
– 2001 A Year Down Yonder by Richard Peck
– 2000 Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis
– 1999 Holes by Louis Sachar
– 1998 Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse
– 1997 The View from Saturday by E. L. Konigsburg
– 1996 The Midwife’s Apprentice by Karen Cushman
– 1995 Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech
– 1994 The Giver by Lois Lowry
– 1993 Missing May by Cynthia Rylant
– 1992 Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
– 1991 Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli
– 1990 Number the Stars by Lois Lowry
– 1989 Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices by Paul Fleischman
– 1988 Lincoln: A Photobiography by Russell Freedman
– 1987 The Whipping Boy by Sid Fleischman
– 1986 Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan
– 1985 The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley
– 1985 A Knot in the Grain and Other Stories by Robin McKinley
1984 Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary
– 1983 Dicey’s Song by Cynthia Voigt
– 1982 A Visit to William Blake’s Inn: Poems for Innocent and Experienced Travelers by Nancy Willard
– 1981 Jacob Have I Loved by Katherine Paterson
– 1980 A Gathering of Days: A New England Girl’s Journal, 1830-32 by Joan W. Blos
– 1979 The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
– 1978 Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson
– 1977 Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor
– 1976 The Grey King by Susan Cooper
– 1975 M.C. Higgins, the Great by Virginia Hamilton
– 1974 The Slave Dancer by Paula Fox
– 1973 Julie of the Wolves by Jean Craighead George
– 1972 Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH by Robert C. O’Brien
– 1971 The Summer of the Swans by Betsy Byars
– 1970 Sounder by William H. Armstrong
1969 The High King by Lloyd Alexander
– 1968 From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E. L. Konigsburg
– 1967 Up a Road Slowly by Irene Hunt
– 1966 I, Juan de Pareja by Elizabeth Borton de TreviƱo
– 1965 Shadow of a Bull by Maia Wojciechowska
– 1964 It’s Like This, Cat by Emily Cheney Neville
– 1963 A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
– 1962 The Bronze Bow by Elizabeth George Speare
– 1961 Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell
– 1960 Onion John by Joseph Krumgold
– 1959 The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare
– 1958 Rifles for Watie by Harold Keith
– 1957 Miracles on Maple Hill by Virginia Sorensen
– 1956 Carry On, Mr. Bowditch by Jean Lee Latham
– 1955 The Wheel on the School by Meindert de Jong
– 1954 …and now Miguel by Joseph Krumgold
– 1953 Secret of the Andes by Ann Nolan Clark
– 1952 Ginger Pye by Eleanor Estes
– 1951 Amos Fortune, Free Man by Elizabeth Yates
– 1950 Door in the Wall by Marguerite De Angeli
– 1949 King of the Wind by Marguerite Henry
– 1948 The Twenty-One Balloons by William Pene du Bois
– 1947 Miss Hickory by Carolyn Sherwin Bailey
– 1946 Strawberry Girl by Lois Lenski
– 1945 Rabbit Hill by Robert Lawson
– 1944 Johnny Tremain by Esther Forbes
– 1943 Adam of the Road by Elizabeth Janet Gray
– 1942 The Matchlock Gun by Walter D. Edmonds
– 1941 Call it Courage by Armstrong Sperry
– 1940 Daniel Boone by James Daugherty
– 1939 Thimble Summer by Elizabeth Enright
– 1938 The White Stag by Kate Seredy
– 1937 Roller Skates by Ruth Sawyer
1936 Caddie Woodlawn by Carol Ryrie Brink
– 1935 Dobry by Monica Shannon
– 1934 Invincible Louisa: The Story of the Author of Little Women by Cornelia Meigs
– 1933 Young Fu of the Upper Yangtze by Elizabeth Lewis
– 1932 Waterless Mountain by Laura Adams Armer
– 1931 The Cat Who Went to Heaven by Elizabeth Coatsworth
– 1930 Hitty: Her First Hundred Years by Rachel Field
– 1929 The Trumpeter of Krakow by Eric P. Kelly
– 1928 Gay Neck: The Story of a Pigeon by Dhan Gopal Mukerji
– 1927 Smoky, the Cow Horse by Will James
– 1926 Shen of the Sea: Chinese Stories for Children by Arthur Bowie Chrisman
– 1925 Tales from Silver Lands by Charles J. Finger
– 1924 The Dark Frigate by Charles Boardman Hawes
– 1923 The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Lofting
– 1922 The Story of Mankind by Hendrik Willem Van Loon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *